『尊米网』域名信息交流平台
设为首页 收藏本站
网站地图 RSS-订阅
反馈留言 高级搜索
尊米首页 | 域名新闻 | 域名知识 | 域名人物 | 域名标识 | 相关下载 | 信息专题 | 域名问答 | 域名经纪 | WHOIS查询 | Winindomain.com
 
╣当前位置╠
尊米首页 > 域名新闻 > 英文媒体报道 > 文章内容
Scam targets domain name
来源:Techworld 作者:Matthew Broersma 发布时间:2007-07-20 00:00:58
欢迎您在线投稿(需先登陆),也可将您的新闻线索/稿件电子邮件至:editor@zunmi.com

A new scam has come to light using publicly available "whois" data to rip off domain name owners.

The scam, like many other increasingly targeted attacks, uses contact information available in the publicly available "whois" database to direct its emails, according to industry newsletter Domain Name Wire. The emails claim to originate from a company called Domain Renewal, which operates a professional-looking site and offers to renew users' or companies' domain names.

Targets are sent an email informing them that their domain name is about to expire, and offering to renew it. Many companies and users buy different domain names from different registrars, making the scam hard to spot - a fact "Domain Renewal" acknowledges on its site.

The company claims to simplify the renewal process via deals with domain registrars around the world, allowing users to keep track of all their domains on one site.

"It is not uncommon for companies to have purchased their domains with different suppliers which makes it even harder to keep track of their domain portfolio. DRS will find and renew your domains for you. We make agreements with ISPs all over the world to renew our customers' domain names," the site states.

There's just one problem: such third-party renewals are not in fact possible under the current domain-name registry framework.

The emails direct users to a slick site that displays Microsoft, Oracle, Cisco and IBM logos, as well as those of major credit card makers. Payment is taken via a payment service called MultiCards.

The Domain Renewal sites are owned by an organisation in Brussels, according to whois.

The Domain Renewal site, domainrenewalonline.com, was still functioning as of Tuesday morning.

Industry experts advise users not to follow links from emails claiming to come from e-commerce websites or authorities such as domain name registrars, since such emails are a common way of carrying out financial fraud.


上一篇:Domain name scammers target uk.biz   下一篇:Web Host AIT Holds Special Domain Name Sale
【免责声明】
以上文章由本站会员发布或网络转载,除色情、暴力及反政府等法律明确禁止内容以外,尊米网对其不承担法律责任。
[收藏] [推荐] [评论(0条)] [返回顶部] [打印本页] [关闭窗口]
发表评论
用户名: 新注册) 密码: 匿名评论 (未注册可直接匿名评论)
评论内容:(250字以内)
 §最新评论
进入主题评论页  
本月热点
相关新闻
·Internet overhaul wins approva
·Phoenix Clothing Brand BLaZa F
·.Asia Landrush Closes with Hal
·Internet agency to battle doma
·Alberta premier threatens to s
·Internet Polling Fails in N.H.
·Domain Front Running by Regist
·Network Solutions snarfing you
·How 2...Buy a domain name
·Registrar denies‘front-runnin
·Pompano domain name firm sold
·Moniker Acquired By Oversee.ne
赞助商广告
尊米首页 - 关于我们 - 本站动态 - 联系我们 - 媒体关注 - 网站地图 - 友情链接 - 原创投稿 - 帮助中心